Hello LuthierTalk!!!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Renkenstein, Jul 15, 2013.

1. Renkenstein

Renkenstein Well-Known Member

Howdy! I'm Renkenstein, or Patrick Renk, or just Renk...whatever y'all prefer. I'm a guitarist of 22 years, with an equal amount of experience maintaining, repairing, and customizing guitars. The first thing I did when I got my first guitar at the tender age of 14 was take it apart. I'm glad that I did! My hunger for knowledge of how guitars work served me well in my guitar playing career. I've always been the go-to guy when friends, family, and bandmate's guitars needed attention.

I did a brief apprenticeship of sorts with a Kansas City luthier by the name of Bill Campbell of Pendragon Guitars. That was probably 15 years ago, and I'm picking up where I left off now that I've got a house and a basement big enough to have a workshop. If any of you happen to know Bill of Pendragon Guitars, please let him know I've tried to find him for the last 15 years with no luck.

I've worked with wood(chuckle) for as long as I've been old enough to nail 2 pieces of scrap together. My father always had a woodshop, and I always had free reign therein. I was fortunate. I learned a lot from my pops, and continue to learn from his experience.

I'm a fan of metal, particularly power metal, and euro-melodic metal. I play in a Kansas City band called Moire. You can check out my playing here if you're so inclined. I'm the long haired bearded fella.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iw95_hoHeKs
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tE9QqIX1z5s