Guitar One - Newbie getting feet wet

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by TheCaffeinatedOne, Apr 3, 2016.

1. TheCaffeinatedOne

TheCaffeinatedOne New Member

I've been studying this stuff for many years, but always came up with an excuse not to actually build anything. I did make some mountain dulcimers 40 years ago, so I've figured out a fair amount about the wrong way to install frets. :scratch:

At any rate, I'm plunging ahead with an acoustic build; the body is based on a Gibson LG 2. My design has a boatload of differences, but I expect there will be a strong family resemblance. I'm not rushing anything.

So far I've built a few jigs, a shooting board and a steaming box for heating up sides. I tried the shooting board out on some very old sitka spruce and it worked quite well; I got a great glue seam. I've jointed and glued the back plates and this afternoon will be doing some more puttering around, thinning the back and sides to building thickness.

Here are a few pics of the project so far. Feels good to make some shavings.

Attached Files:

HEADKNOCKER likes this.
  2. poro78

poro78 Well-Known Member

Always nice to see acoustic builds. Planning to do one in the distant future, we'll see if that ever happens.
    Enjoy the journey. :yesway:

3. Murkar

Murkar Well-Known Member

nice! Agreed, always nice to seeacoustic builds. looking forward to seeing how this comes together

4. TheCaffeinatedOne

Yesterday I got the side bending form together. It's a little rough but should be functional. I used 3/4" ply and sunk 3/8" aluminum rods to form the surface for the wood. I don't plan to use this as a heating source, although I could change that down the line. Instead, I'm going to experiment with a steam box to heat the sides and use the form to capture and hold the cooling plates.