Fretboard Restoration.

Discussion in 'Restoration & Repair' started by SpectacularSounds, Feb 15, 2016.

1. SpectacularSounds

SpectacularSounds New Member

Hey everyone,
    This is my first time seeking advice from any luthier community, so I'd like to start off by thanking you in advance for any help or insight you're willing to offer.

While I certainly couldn't claim to have the skills and experience necessary to call myself a luthier, I do have a certain nack with stringed instruments that causes a curiosity into the art.

Anyway I recently reconditioned the fretboard on an old guitar of mine. Basically just cleaned it, removed the slightest amount possible with 320 grit and smoothed it out with ultrafine steel wool.
    I decided to oil the fretboard for looks and friction reasons, which I opted for 3in1.
    Now we get to my question.
    3in1 smells like garbage, and so in the spirit of curiosity I added a small portion of vanilla and coffee extract to the oil and mixed it before I applied it to my fretboard.
    The results I've logged from this so far are:
    1)Smells phenomenal
    2)No noticeable difference.

I was cautious to try this for obvious reasons, but I was unable to find any evidence of anyone else ever trying this.
    Does anyone have any experience with the long term consequences of this? Playability and more importantly tone have seem minimal if any negative ramifications.

Thanks again for any advice or observations you might have.

2. Chris Pile

Chris Pile Member

Ye Gods, man - clean that crap off with some lemon oil. It's a natural plant oil, and will refresh and clean the wood, making it smell nice.

aeleus and B. Howard like this.
  3. SpectacularSounds