Fixing Cracked Neck Below Headstock

Discussion in 'Restoration & Repair' started by RobLM, Feb 13, 2017.

1. RobLM

RobLM New Member

I'm a beginner at repairs, and for practice I took a shot at fixing a cracked neck near the headstock on an old Fender DG-7 acoustic I picked up at a thrift store several years ago for $20. I have a couple of pics here (should have done a before and after, but didn't think about it) and am wondering if anybody has any feedback on how to do this better in the future. Here are the pics after the gluing and clamping, and below that, a quick description of what I did...
    upload_2017-2-13_19-1-13.jpeg
    upload_2017-2-13_19-1-38.jpeg

The big inverted "U" crack was the first and worst of the visible cracks. What I did was:
    1. Set the guitar up vertically in a jig, then used a long board parallel to the fretboard with a clamp on the headstock and one on the neck below the crack to stretch the crack open a little bit for glue access
    2. Tried a couple ways to get hide glue into the crack as far as a could, including using a guitar string to get into the cracks a bit and also using a compressed air can to try and blast it down further
    3. Re-clamped to hold the crack shut.

I am wondering a few things:

1. You can see from the sideways shot that the neck below the crack didn't end up completely flush. Maybe this had to do with where I put the clamp (a little below this point). What could I do in a future similar repair to get it flush?
    2. Again in the sideways shot, you can see the cracks have spread into the binding at the first fret...is this likely to get worse in the future?
    3. Any tips on handling/maneuvering tiny chips like the one missing in the second picture? Do you just try to work it into place with your fingers?
    4. What else could I have done to make this a smoother-looking repair job?

Any and all feedback appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. fumblefinger

fumblefinger Member