Bracing and tonal qualities

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by CanadaJ, Nov 7, 2014.

1. CanadaJ

CanadaJ New Member

Hello,

Just looking to gather as much information about bracing and the tonal impact the various approaches can have on a guitar sound. This is my first build, so I want to keep it simple. However, a little bit of learning never hurt. From what I've read so far (and please correct me if I'm wrong);

1. Straight braces = less bass, brighter sound
    2. Scalloped braces = more bass, less brights

3. Rear shifted = more balanced, louder
    4. Forward shifted = more bass

Of course, these are all relative to each piece of tonewood. I played a Martin D28 HD-V the other day and it had great tones throughout the frequency range. The bass was clear as day, no tones were muddled. I was very impressed it just sounded amazing. That being said, I had played "lesser" D28 HD-V before.

Would love to hear everyone's take on bracing and how to approach bracing from a tonal perspective.

Thanks,

Julien

P.S. I'm a big fan of the smooth sound coming from White/Rice's D28, but realize that much of that has to do with TR himself.

2. Thaddeus

Thaddeus New Member

Make the braces as light as you can get away with. Use bright sounding wood (tap tone). If you tap the brace against something and it sounds dull or muddy, you don't want it in your guitar. You wouldn't add mud to soup, don't add it to your sound.

3. Duplex Dave

Duplex Dave Active Member

That's the trick right there. But, you can't figure out what you can get away with until you've had a guitar or two fall apart from under-braced tops....in other words, until it's too late :cool:

4. Thaddeus

Thaddeus New Member

True dat. Better to start a little beefy and pull back on the bracing gradually with successive guitars.

Of course, I didn't do it that way, so my first three acoustics (cannons all) blew up after about 6 months. Good learning experience, though. Do as I say, not as I do, etc.