Advice on replacing Gibson J-45 top (stepped on)

Discussion in 'Restoration & Repair' started by Wayne Hickman, Dec 24, 2015.

1. Wayne Hickman

Wayne Hickman New Member

Hi. My name is Wayne and this is my first post to this forum. This is my first time restoring a guitar but I've been woodworking as a hobby all my life.

I've recently acquired a Gibson J-45 from someone that stepped on the top and crushed it. It was free to me and I don't want to spend a ton of money restoring it to factory original but I do want to stabilize it so that it plays well - regardless of cosmetics. Gibson wanted $2700 to fix it which is out of the question.

My two options are 1) replace the crushed top with a new top and bracing, or 2) remove the crushed top, replace the broken bracing and glue the rest of the top together best that I can and put it back on there.

Does anyone know where I can get a replacement top with backing? Even a blank would do as I'm confident that I could trace the old top onto a new blank and cut it to fit. It's not necessary to match the sunburst paint.

Also, what is the best way to get the old top off. Do I need to remove the binding? Shall I apply heat to loosen the old glue? And do you think I need to find some hide glue for the repair or is my woodworking glue OK?

Here are some pics of my guitar. Please look away if you are squeamish.:ohno:

Any advice is appreciated. Just looking to have some fun with this rebuild and do it on the cheap and would like to do it myself if possible to keep the costs down.

Thanks,Wayne

Attached Files:

2. Duplex Dave

Duplex Dave Active Member