What to do with more dang guitars!?!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Guittech, Aug 23, 2013.

1. Guittech

Guittech New Member

Ok, serious question.

I am a tech (thus the name) and a guitar nut, so I already have WAY TOO MANY guitars. I am wanting to start building this year (i have a goal to have 2 juniors made for next summer) And figure the first few guitars might be a bit rough.

Currently i have NO interest in building to sell. thus

WHAT TO DO WITH MORE GUITARS!?!?!

lol

I am not wanting to build a second "guitar-senal" but i already have my main rig (2 LP's, a Larivee acoustic a 5-string bass and a hollow PRS) a SECOND VERSION of the exact same rig that lives at my drummer's place (2 LPs' a Taylor acoustic, a warwick bass and a hollow 339) since i am too lazy to carry guitars between one place and the other... in addition to that i have a collection of "leftover guitars" from my past gear collecting... including a few bolt ons, a PRS import or 2...

ALSO, I have a habit of collecting scrap parts and building guitars out of THAT TOO!!!!! those i tend to give away to anyone who wants one... though i guess i'll now be keeping more parts than i used to!!! (last week I gave away about 20 cheap humbucking pickups, that I JUST REALIZED would be good to teach myself re-winding)

So what do you guys do?!?!

I figure as my skills increase, I'll start replacing guitars in my rig with home-built versions but at some point in the future I'll either have to stop building, or start selling.

Had the same issue building Tube amps. I loved doing it, but at one time my home office was starting to look like the old cover of Aspen Pittman's "Tube Amp Book" i had 7 or 8 amps done and more started... I am thankfully down to 3 tube amps now, and only 1 small combo lives at home...

Oh, and did i mention i am currently living in a CONDO?!?!?! hahahahahahah
    So, what are the rest of you doing with your "gear overage"

:D

2. emoney

emoney New Member