Two Sets Of Pickups?

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by Whisky Jack, Mar 31, 2018.

1. Whisky Jack

Whisky Jack New Member

I am not a Luthior. I'm a retired old carpenter, that is doing my second build. My first was a four string cigar box guitar, that turned out great. Now I have undertaken building a one piece Jatoba wood electric. (Actually 2 piece when I overlay the Ebony fingerboard on to the neck) This may be a stupid question. But why can't I use two sets of single coil pickups? Set side by side. With a switch to power one set or the other. So the build could have 2 different sounds. Thanks in advance for any and all ridicule.

2. mistermikev

mistermikev Member

no reason not to. Currently working on a guitar with 3 single coils and 3 dummy single coils using a 5 way + a rotary 4p4t. All sorts of things you could do. you could wire each set of two in series and use a std 3 way switch to fire a, b or a+b. You could wire the 4 to a 5 way switch giving you ab, ac, c, cd, d... the possibilities are endless.

Whisky Jack likes this.
  3. GuitarBuilder

GuitarBuilder Member

Go for it!

Whisky Jack likes this.
  4. Whisky Jack

Whisky Jack New Member

Thanks for your input mistermikev! I have read that the density of the Jatoba I'm using, brings out a "warmer/darker" tone. So I am thinking on using a set of classic mid range output pickups, and possibly a set of high output David Allen "Echoes". I know I may be setting myself up for a wiring nightmare. I have so many times seen a guitarist change guitars between songs. I thought I might be able to somewhat remedy that. Going out to finish "rough cut" on guitar now. Pics soon. Thanks again!

5. Whisky Jack

Whisky Jack New Member

Thanks Guitar Builder! It may turn out to be a calamity. And a huge waste of money. But I'm used to wasting effort and money. (ie marriages, whisky, raising kids, etc, etc!) Thanks again!

6. mistermikev

mistermikev Member