Neck Through Headstock Angle Calculation

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by TonyL, Aug 25, 2017.

1. TonyL

TonyL New Member

Hi Everyone, Im really new at this (besides never doing the easy thing, ever) I have a question which Im desperately hoping someone can solve.

I plan on building a Neck Through electric and need to work out what measurements to use for the headstock angle. There are essentially two ways to tilt the head stock. The scarf join in the Headstock ( which is the easy way, relative to the location of the nut, where the angled cut IS AT THE NUT, with the headstock tilting from there) and the other more complex way where the scarf join is part of the neck. Now, heres the kicker.....

How does one go about measuring back from the Nut for lets say a 13deg angle such that the nut ends up the CORRECT DISTANCE from the bridge? The problem comes in, in that one need to flip the headstock over and then one is working with the hypotenuse which is LONGER and which subsequently alters the scale length.

I realise one could just move the bridge forward a bit to compensate for the error which this introduces BUT as I said at the beginning, with a Thru Neck design - Everything - IS CALCULATED IN ADVANCE - which includes the placing of the finger board and the beginning of the neck/body angle, so there is NO POSSIBILITY of 'simply moving' the bridge.

If anyone has A FORMULA to calculate this distance ( most (read: ALL) online calculators work for BOLT ON necks and hence do not apply.

2. Michael_P

Michael_P Member

just model (draw) it out...work backwards from the nut location to the intersection point of fretboard to body, etc.

or...use trigonometry or the pythagorean formula...