Luthier To Be In Need Of Cnc Machine Advisement And/or Reccomendations

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by KBA, Dec 22, 2018.

1. KBA

KBA New Member

Greetings my friends,
    I am a first year Luthier whom is training myself and have decided to save up for a CNC machine to custom build electric guitar bodies, necks, and whatever I can really that will make a profit. I have a lifetime dedication to harmony and have decided a luthier is in line with the fostering of freedom and harmony allowing me to live in love and in peace. I have been examining and watching videos on YouTube which show people using CNC machines to produce electric guitar parts. I am intrigued and would like to start. Ideally I would use all parts manufactured that are as close as possible to my location, which is in Indiana in the USA. Least carbon footprint possible. Supporting my own people. I also am interested in acoustic guitars too. My situation is that I am currently with little funding but the ability to take what limited funding I have and save up to buy a CNC machine. Well eventually. I am considering buying used electric guitars and fixing them up and selling them for a fee. Perhaps painting, changing equipment, etc. I saw a video of a steampunk themed guitar, maybe themed guitars would be a good starting point. I have also seen nice equipment put into used guitars that have created value. Maybe I could rebrand guitars in this fashion and add my own value to them. Even selling them online. This way I can build up money to buy the CNC machine. I am in a small town where there just really is no where to work. So this is what I think of to gather money for my first CNC machine and equipment.

Questions:
    What first CNC machine would you recommend and software?
    Any ideas on ways to fix up electric guitars for profits?
    Any advice for someone starting out (advice that will help)?