First Build, Wood, Tools..

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by Ilia, Jul 10, 2018.

1. Ilia

Ilia New Member

Hello, I'm want to build my first guitar. As I read, easiest guitar to build is Telecaster type. I have different kind of woods in my hand, but I think not all of them are suitable for this build. I have huge pieces of Alder(European), Wattles(acacia), Ash, small pieces of chestnut and african mahogany, some wallnut. I know alder and ash is good for body, but I don't know what to use for neck, maple is best I know :D. It's really hard to find maple in my country. Have access to some power tools, like table saw, planer, jointer, router, drill(not press drill), orbital sander. What other tools will need to use for future build ? And lastly can you recommend guitar building DVD or book that will come handy? Thanks in advance.

2. mistermikev

mistermikev Member

I'm a newbie builder here so keep that in mind reading my response...
    afa wood - both mahog and walnut are popular choices for a neck although I don't know of too many examples of folks using either for a fretboard (not saying it can't be done - just not as popular).
    afa tools - I think almost everything can be done with a router and jigsaw, but then some build exclusively with hand tools. The right tool will def make things easier but where there is will there is a way.
    afa books - I can't recommend as I have read none on building. There are so many talented builders posting tutorials on the internet here and in other forums... I'd start there. Depending on how much woodworking experience you have you may consider checking with your local university to see if they offer a course. safety is the one thing I think you want to learn 'hands on' face to face.
    good luck - safety first!

3. Ilia

Ilia New Member