First build: bolt-on 7 string electric

Discussion in 'Guitar Building' started by EvilAsh, Jul 18, 2016.

1. EvilAsh

EvilAsh New Member

Hi all,

I recently got totally obsessed with the idea of building a guitar. I've always been pretty good with my hands, but have never really put my skills to the test. And what I have learned through this build, is just how few skills I had! Anyway I'm slowly getting there, I'm a librarian by trade and have two kids under 4, so it is slow going.

I am building a 7 string electric bolt on. Initially I decided to build a bolt on, because I thought that a set neck would require greater precision, and if my neck was out a bit, I could always shim it. But hopefully it won't come to that! It's seven string because I've never owned one, and they've always had a mysterious allure.

One thing I've learned so far is I wish I kept a journal during the build. I'm worried I'm gonna repeat the same mistakes I made first time round on the next build! Oh well, next time maybe.

Anyway enough preamble, here's a pic of the body.

Attached Files:

2. EvilAsh

EvilAsh New Member

Also when making the truss rod channel I didn't count on the router going a bit squiffy as it exited the nut end. This was because there was less neck for the fence to run against. Not a big deal as it will have a truss rod cover, but it'll annoy me knowing it is there. Might use epoxy and sanding dust? The fix will have to be strong though to withstand an Allen key scraping around there.

Attached Files:

3. EvilAsh

EvilAsh New Member

Here's the neck as it is now. Just got inlays, radiussing, and shaping :ohno:

Attached Files:

4. SimonB15

SimonB15 Active Member

Mistakes like this happen, and aren't a big deal, and you learn for next time :)

Looks like a nice clean build so far. What are the woods you're using?

5. EvilAsh

EvilAsh New Member